MINUTES OF THE ALLAMAKEE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2024

(UNOFFICIAL Board members present: Byrnes,

Keatley, and Reiser. All members voting "AYE" unless noted. Meeting called to order by Auditor

Beyer, followed by Pledge of Allegiance. Beyer asked for a motion to appoint 2024 Chairperson and Chairperson Pro-Tem.

24.001-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to appoint Dan Byrnes as Chairperson of Board of Supervisors for 2024. Motion carried.

24.002-Motion Keatley/Second Byrnes to appoint Mark Reiser as Chairperson Pro Tem for 2024. Motion carried.

Chairperson Byrnes took over as Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

24.003-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 27, 2023 meeting. Motion carried.

The following people were present at various times throughout the meeting in person or via Zoom: Joseph Moses – Standard newspaper, Denise Beyer – Auditor and Clerk to Supervisors, Darin Svenson, Tom Clark, Chris Fee, Mike Hohenbrink, Val Reinke, Corey Snitker, Clark Mellick, Ross Geerdes. Public Comment: Auditor Bey-

Public Comment: Auditor Beyer gave Supervisors a copy of the Compensation Commission letter going out to members today for information purposes if anyone contacts them about it.

24.004-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley for Board of Supervisors to meet on Mondays at 9:30 a.m. in 2024 with the first 10 minutes for Public Comment time. Motion carried.

Supervisors reviewed the list of Board/Commission appointments. 24.005-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to appoint Board of Supervisors as members to boards/com-

missions/committees as follows – Dan Byrnes – Chairperson; Allamakee County E911 Board; Allamakee County Revolving Loan Fund; Allamakee County Board of Health; Allamakee County Substance Abuse Board; Iowa Workforce Development Chief Elected Officials Board; Northeast Iowa Community Action Executive Board; Northeast Iowa Community Action Transit Board; Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging; Regional Upper Explorerland Revolving Loan Fund; Upper Explorerland Regional Housing Authority Board; Alternate for the following: Emergency Management Commission; Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board; T-21 DOT Policy Board; and County Social Services Board of Directors;

MINUTES 01.02.2024 • ALLAMAKEE COUNTY BOS

Mark Reiser – Chairperson Pro-Tem; Courthouse; Allamakee County Farn; Allamakee County Conservation Board; 28E Board; DECAT Empowerment; Northeast Iowa Behavioral Health Board; Northeast Iowa Response Group; T-21 Advisory Board; Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund; Alternate for – Emergency Management Commission; and Board of Directors of Judicial District Department of Corrections;

Dennis Keatley – Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board; County Social Services Board of Directors; Resource, Conservation & Development Board (RC&D); Board of Directors of Judicial District Department of Corrections; Allamakee County Economic Development Executive Board: T-21 DOT Policy Board; Emergency Management Commission; Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission; Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission Executive Board; Alternate for -Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund.

All Board members represented on the following Boards/Commissions/Committees – Allamakee County Conference Board, Allamakee County Economic Development, Roadside Management, Allamakee County Planning & Zoning Board, Allamakee County Solid Waste; Allamakee County Historical Society.

cal Society. Motion carried.

24.006-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to name the Postville Herald and Waukon Standard as official newspapers of Allamakee County for 2024. Motion carried. 24.007-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to approve resolution to set county mileage reimbursement rate for 2024 at \$0.50/mile. Roll call: Reiser-aye; Byrnes-aye; Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office)

24.008-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to approve 2024 bounties for coyotes at \$5.00 each and gophers at \$0.50 (fifty cents) per pair for front feet, and feet must be in clear bags with no more than 10 pair per bag. Motion carried.

24.009-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to appoint Corey Snitker as alternate voter for Board of Supervisors on NE Iowa Response Group. Motion carried.

24.010-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to appoint Laurie Moody as Allamakee County's 2024 Weed Commissioner. Motion carried. 24.011-Motion Keatley/Second

Reiser to approve paying the following: For LOSST and Primary elections

Precinct Election Officials \$15 per training for election trainings; regular PEOs \$175 per day and precinct Chairpersons \$215 per day; alternate PEOs \$15 per training and \$50 on-call pay if they are not called to work; Health Care Facility team and Absentee Board members \$10/hour and Absentee Chairperson \$12/hour with minimum pay of 2 hours for HCF and Absentee Board; plus mileage for all positions.

For GENERAL Election: Precinct Election Officials \$15 per training for election trainings; regular PEOs \$200 per day and precinct Chairpersons \$250 per day; alternate PEOs \$15 per training and \$50 on-call pay if they are not called to work; Health Care Facility team and Absentee Board members \$12/hour and HCF and Absentee Chairpersons \$15/hour with minimum pay of 2 hours for HCF and Absentee Board; plus mileage for all positions. Motion carried.

24.012-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to adopt the Construction Evaluation Resolution/Master Matrix for February 1, 2024 to January 31, 2025 for Allamakee County. Roll call: Reiser-aye; Byrnes-aye; Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office)

24.013-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to approve resolution authorizing Engineer to execute the Certification of Final Completion of Work for all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects. Roll Call: Reiser-aye; Byrnes-aye; Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office) Board appointments were dis-

Board appointments were discussed and applications reviewed. 24.014-Motion Reiser to appoint Lynn O'Hara for 3-year term; Dr. McMullan to Board of Health for 1-year term; Shawn Gibbs to Board of Adjustment; Steve Weymiller for Conservation Board and Dan Byrnes for one additional year for NE Iowa Area Agency on Aging Board. Motion carried.

24.015-Motion Keatley/Second Reiser to accept and place on file the Manure Management Plan update for Saffron LLC. Motion carried.

Auditor Beyer presented 2023 valuations to Supervisors and compared to 2022 valuations.

Department Head updates: Sheriff Mellick gave department update – busy weekend with slick roads; several trials the next couple months; working with VMH regarding ambulance/mutual aid agreements and presented to Attorney Jill Kistler for review; union negotiations begin this week. Corey Snitker – commission meeting today and upcoming legislative session. Ross Geerdes gave department update – cutting ash trees and working on budget. Auditor Beyer gave department update – planning for March 5, 2024 LOSST election and budgeting work.

Supervisors and Auditor Beyer moved into budget planning work session.

24.016-Motion Reiser/Second Keatley to adjourn. Motion carried.

Dan Byrnes, Chairperson ATTEST: Denise Beyer, Auditor Published in the Postville Herald on January 10, 2024.